top of page
Search

Bash 101 Linux After Dark

Hello one and all to Bash 101.

It is a Friday night so we can playfully call this video Linux After Dark.

We are going to cover the a portion of a batch file I did in Windows earlier this week. We are going to explore this from the Bash side of things.

We are not going to get the same results but hopefully we might get some useful information that we can put to use.




This is a list of the commands an scripts that were mentioned.


uname It tells me I'm on Linux.

uname -n It tells me the name of the system I'm on.

uname -v It tells me the Linux derivative and time stamp.

uname -r It tells me Kernel information.

uname -m It tells me processor information

uname -a It tells me the cumulative info mentioned before


clear

ls List

cd Documents Change directory to Documents

pwd This shows the working directory


sudo lshw Shows info on some of the hardware on the system

sudo lshw -short Shows system hardware in a structured way.

sudo lshw -short -C memory RAM info


lsusb It tells me USB info on the system

lsusb -v More orderly USB info.

lspci It gives alot of info on the many controllers on a system

lspci -v More orderly info about the controllers

lspci -t It gives some numeric values: Not sure about this.

lscpu It tells me about vulnerabilities

free A short list of info on the system RAM

free -m A shorter version of the RAM info

lsblk It gives info on the HDDs

lsblk -a More HDD info

sudo fdisk -l More HDD info


history A breakdown of the commands used today

6 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page